Author Topic: Askozia on PCengines APU board  (Read 9162 times)

bartwiggers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: 9
    • View Profile
Askozia on PCengines APU board
« on: May 11, 2014, 04:08:49 PM »
Hi Askozia experts,

Who has Askozia running on the new PCengines APU board ?

I need some help with installing it.

Bart (NL)

steviedv

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2014, 04:23:08 PM »
I have an APU, but not with Askozia installed.

What exactly is your problem installing Askozia?

Stephan.

ITKSteve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2014, 08:24:57 PM »
I have it running on an APU board. Everything seems to work except software reboots - when you go to reboot the 3 lights light up and it hangs (Devs?) . Other than that it's great. Much snappier interface than the ALIX and i bet it can handle increased load.

goseph

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 841
  • Karma: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2014, 08:28:30 PM »
I have it running on an APU board. Everything seems to work except software reboots - when you go to reboot the 3 lights light up and it hangs (Devs?) . Other than that it's great. Much snappier interface than the ALIX and i bet it can handle increased load.
nice, how about some hints for us installing it?
Thx

tom76dc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2014, 09:33:17 PM »
Goseph,

Might be the same problem to install pfsense on the apu. Because the sd card is connected on USB interface it needs a delay in the boot procedure.

My guess is if you run it on msata ssd there will be no problem.

To debug this you probably need to connect it to serial console.Do you have a serial console attached to the apu?

Tom

steviedv

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2014, 06:30:34 AM »
Hi
I usually follow this guide http://www.askozia.com/handbook/index.php?title=Installation - Vmware. But instead of installing to a virtual disk, install to an attached SD card
Stephan.

goseph

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 841
  • Karma: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2014, 09:42:46 AM »
I think not many people install it the vm-ware way?

Is there any other way to install it on mSata without having to use a mSata to usb adapter?

Do you all install Askozia on a SD-Card and then use a USB-Stick for storage?

ITKSteve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2014, 08:04:44 PM »
I have it running on an APU board. Everything seems to work except software reboots - when you go to reboot the 3 lights light up and it hangs (Devs?) . Other than that it's great. Much snappier interface than the ALIX and i bet it can handle increased load.
nice, how about some hints for us installing it?
Thx

I just went through the normal installation procedure as if I was installing to a CF for Alix boards. The default interface (eth0) seems to be the one labeled OPT1 (at least on the netgate enclosures). The enclosure does get warm due to the heat sink transferring heat to it. I would recommend allowing for some airflow to the bottom of the case.

steviedv

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2014, 09:09:18 PM »
Goseph,
I think not many people install it the vm-ware way?
-> so far I just  know, that I did it this way ;-)
Is there any other way to install it on mSata without having to use a mSata to usb adapter?
-> one could boot with an Live-USB stick (for example voyage Linux) containing the askozia firmware image and install it
the Linux way http://www.askozia.com/handbook/index.php?title=Installation#Linux


Do you all install Askozia on a SD-Card and then use a USB-Stick for storage?
-> so far yes, I just ordered a msata disk
-> I will share my experineces, as soon as I succeeded installing askozia to msata
Stephan.

steviedv

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2014, 02:03:49 PM »
Hi,
I got my msata
-> I will share my experineces, as soon as I succeeded installing askozia to msata
I installed like this, did anyone find an easier way?
Code: [Select]
------------- install -------------------------
1) create a LiveUSB Stick using "voyage linux" current iso
2) extract "firmware.img" from your "askozia-pbx-generic-pc-x86-i486-uclibc-3.0.2.img" to the root directory of the USB Stick
3) boot APU with the usb stick
4) the APU will get its ip via dhcp -> use an ip scanner or check your router for the assigned <ip>
5) ssh (putty) to <ip>, logon as root / voyage
6) # remountrw
7) # fdisk -l     to find your target disk <disk>
8) # cd  /lib/live/mount/medium
9) # gunzip -c firmware.img | dd of=/dev/sda bs=512           !! replace sda by <disk> if sda is not your desired target
10)# shutdown -h now
----------------------
* plug off power cord
* make shure your network cable is plugged next to the serial sub-d plug
* plug on power cord
* use an ip scanner or check your router for the assigned <ip>
* http://<ip> from your computer

I could not boot from the original Askozia Live CD, If you can, installing would be even simpler:
Code: [Select]
1) boot from LiveCD
2) find ip
3) ssh to ip, logon root / askozia
4) start installation by entering: /etc/rc.initial

Stephan.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2014, 10:35:20 PM by steviedv »

goseph

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 841
  • Karma: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2014, 02:29:12 PM »
@steviedv
is the software reboot working fine for you on m-Sata?
Thanks!

steviedv

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2014, 05:02:59 PM »
@ goseph
is the software reboot working fine for you on m-Sata?

-> No. It also hangs with the 3 LEDs on.

Stephan.

ITKSteve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2014, 08:01:53 AM »
Just noticed another issue. The call flow editor recordings (and possibly other recordings) dont survive the hard reboots. I have to re-record every time. If it wasn't ready for production use before - it certainly isn't now.

toxicfusion

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2014, 10:24:24 PM »
sub'd.

I'm also looking to using and testing the APU1C board.

I plan to install on sHDC card and use mSATA drive for storage.

Have you folks upgraded to the most recent bios/firmare for the boards?  There was alot of reported fixes. Might resolve reboot hang?

If sDHC card prove to be issue to install.  Can always run a 2GB SATA SSD drive (Transcend) off the SATA header and create your own 4 pin to sata power cable.



bartwiggers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Askozia on PCengines APU board
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2014, 12:09:58 PM »
Hi Toxicfusion,

I now use the Intel NUC as replacement for the ALIX board because I never got APU board to work.

The NUC DN2820FYKH + 30Gb SSD + 4Gb memory together will cost you only 160 euro (without VAT).

It runs on 2,4 Ghz so you will have enough power for even make the GUI run smoothly.

Bart.